Second Guitar for a Beginner

What's Hot
andypandyp Frets: 332
Hi folks.

I'm a new member on here but have really enjoyed reading the forum over the past few weeks. My old man has played guitar since he was 10 or 12 and although I've been around his guitars and seen him playing daily my whole life (35 years...!) I only started learning to play in January this year. I've played daily for 1-3 hours since then (with very few exceptions) and am beginning to get more confident with the stuff I've learned so far. I'm basically trying to balance learning theory with learning to play tunes I know and like. It seems to be working but I'm at the point now where my progress is much less "tangible" than it was back a few weeks ago.

My working routine means that I'm away from home Monday to Thursday where I have the use of a valve amp that my Dad built and I have a Blackstar ID Core 10 at home and basically take my Epiphone LP Standard up and down the road with me. I've been seriously drooling over buying a Les Paul Junior for a while now but at £600 and my stage of playing I'm not sure I can justify that at the moment, so I'd been considering getting something like a £100 Pacifica or RGX to keep at home meaning I could use the Epiphone most of the time with the valve amp (which sounds much better than the ID Core to me) and have the cheaper second guitar at home where it will get quite a bit less use than the Epiphone does during the week as I've got young kids. I really like the Epiphone so I've no complaints there at all, it's great.

My question is this... Do I hang on for a while with the Epiphone and get an LP Junior to supplement it later this year, or do I get myself a cheap second guitar for the moment then look to upgrade one of my then current ones in a year or two? If I had the Junior it would be my main guitar using the valve amp and the Epiphone would be the one at home using the ID Core with less use.