Anyone got the latest crop of Apple portables?

What's Hot
octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33848
edited June 2015 in Studio & Recording
I'm about to get another Mac portable.
I've been using a Macbook Air for the last 5 years- I've had 3 of them now and they have been great but I fancy something with more power and with a better screen.

I already have a Mac Pro tower in the studio that does most of the heavy lifting but I want something that can do a bit of audio, some 3D design for the laser cutter and CNC machine that I'm having built, as well as the usual sort of use.
I'm not a gamer.

Trying to choose between the 13" dual core or the 15" quad core.
How much more capable is the 15" compared to the 13"?

I'm trying to balance weight/size against power.
If it was my only Mac then I'd get the 15" but maybe I can get away with the 13" in this instance.

Any advice to this?
(Before anyone says it, not interested in going PC)

Cheers fellas.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ROOGROOG Frets: 559
    Sorry I can't help, but I do have a similar dilemma. 

I am interested in an apple macbook pro, 13", which would be my first proper apple computer. But I am  now drawn by the idea of a Mac Mini. 

Thing is I don't want a large desktop type screen, I would like to be able to operate the Mini from an ipad retaining the option to use the apple wireless key pad and mouse. 

For most of my use the ipad screen would be adequate. 

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17672
    tFB Trader
    We use the 15" MBPs for work. They are quite a bit quicker than the 13", but I guess the question is more 'Is the 13" quick enough for what you need?'

One thing to be aware of is that the 15" MBP can drive a 4K screen properly which not all Macs can do. 
    I use a 4K screen for work now and I wouldn't go back.
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1639

I have never been a mac person. Seen one, did not touch it!