*New* First guitar

What's Hot
Yes the title sounds dumb but hear me out :) I made a huge mistake a few years ago, I decided I wanted to learn to play the guitar so I went out to my local brick-a-brack/Feighan's style shop and grabed the first cheap sub £40 s/h guitar I saw and took it home... Thus after spending a week or two trying to learn tabs self taught on a guitar with about 3 feet of tab action, frets as tall as the sweetcorn giant and strings as tight as the pockets of your local MP to get rid of the rattle I gave up. And I'm beginning to think this was one of the worst mistakes I ever made. If anyones interested I think the guitar was a Benson? Or Bronson?? A cherry red strat replica style thing I want to remedy my mistake by starting again but I'm going to need a guitar worth owning, now I dont have money coming out of my ears so it would still have to be reasonably cheap and obviously user friendly. I'm big in to Metal "Metallica, Maiden, FFDP etc" so I want something I can shred "eventually" or atleast take my learning in a Metal direction with a strong Metal aound I'll find encouraging and rewarding.... I've been looking in the direction of either an Ibanez or a BC Rich, can someone recomend something? I'd like it to really last me until I'm sort of intermediate and can justify spending £500+ on a more advanced piece. Also should I be looking at something with a Tremelo? Active or Passive pickups? How many Pickups? Damn I know nothing :) Please help your advice would be most welcome!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33825
    £500 gets you an Fender American Std.
    Get one, replace the bridge pickup with a humbucker.

Otherwise spend £300-500 on the best Ibanez/ESP/Schecter you can find.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom