Drum Programming Software

What's Hot
In the new year I'm looking to get into doing a lot more songwriting / pitching for stuff and I need to get some decent drum software to sort this.

Electronic stuff isn't too much of an issue as I've got loads of samples that cover that, but more interested in good realistic sounds for rock / pop kinda stuff. I'm fairly new to this kinda drum programming too so ease of use is a big plus too.

I know lots of people who use BFD, superior etc but just looking to see if there's anything i'm forgetting and a few pros / cons with each.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DeijavooDeijavoo Frets: 3298
    I've always liked the BFD stuff for absolute quality but I only ever make demos of ideas at home for my band and for that purpose i use Logic Drummer a lot more in recent history. You know, got 15 minutes to get some stuff down sort of thing. Not that we ever do much at the minute so it's kinda beside the point.

Not used SD but from demos it looks good. Steven Slate also is about, the Terry Date pack sounded Deftonetastic.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33801
    I have pretty much all of them.
    BFD and Drummer 2.0 get the most use.
    Addictive drums and Slate are great too.
  • NerineNerine Frets: 2168
    Superior Drummer 2.0 is the best all rounder.
    And that's from having owned or demoed all of them.
    It's also the most realistic and sounds the best IMO.
    A lot of the expansions are also excellent.
  • BodBod Frets: 1315
    You can't beat EZDrummer 2 for value for money.  I've also got SD2, but I find that for songwriting and demos I use EZD much more, mainly because of the tap-to-find function and the huge number of loops.

I do use SD for final mixes though.
  • BFD all the way for me. Used to use EZDrummer but listening back to my old stuff the drum samples sound like shit in comparison to BFD.
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ