Baking help!

What's Hot
Work are doing a charity bake off that I've been roped into.  Can't really complain - for every entry work are donating £50 to cancer research.

I'm a decent cook and I'm certainly no stranger to baking but I've run into a bit of a problem.  I'd already decided what to make and did a test run today.  If you're a fan of the bake off you might remember a 20 layer, grilled cake from the 2014 series - a schichttorte. 

So, I made this today

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5256888/schichttorte.jpg

It looks pretty good in my opinion and it tastes pretty good too but it has a really off putting, rubbery texture.  A quick look online suggests that it's meant to be like that but that doesn't really help my chances of winning.

So, I'm looking for something else to make that's reasonably impressive and doesn't feel like you're chewing on cold pancakes.  Any ideas?
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SambostarSambostar Frets: 8745

You could make a guitar body out of that chopping board.

Backdoor Children Of The Sock
    4reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Post me that torte and I'll send you a box of Mr Kiplings!
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • eSullyeSully Frets: 981
    Black Forest gateux. Not too hard and pretty much everyone is a fan, or, for my birthday a few weeks back my wife made Guinness chocolate cake and it was amazing.
  • Ooh, I've had Guiness chocolate cake - we had a Bake Off at work and that was my favourite .
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • Paul_CPaul_C Frets: 8087

"I'll probably be in the bins at Newport Pagnell services."  fretmeister
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • SporkySporky Frets: 30206