Routing query?

What's Hot
Is there any downside to a swimming pool route on the top of a Fender style guitar? It would all be covered by the scratchplate but wondered if there were any practical or aural downsides.

Anyone got any experience?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33964
    None at all.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1843
    Excellent, job's a good'un then. That's what I expected but as it's my first build I thought it was worth asking the question. Makes sorting the top route a whole load easier.

Cheers
    edited March 2016
    I should say that the is my (not uninformed) opinion- not gospel.
    I'm sure some folks believe there is but you are taking out a tiny amount of the guitar's mass.

I doubt anyone can tell the difference- it isn't like an acoustic guitar where removing mass from the braces 'tunes' the response of the soundboard.

Most of the tone of the instrument comes from the pickups/amp/speaker- the wood you use is a factor but removing such a small amount of body mass won't make a difference to tone.
  • Andyjr1515Andyjr1515 Frets: 3128
    I share @octatonic 's view. I doubt very much if anyone would be able to tell the difference...
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16956
    edited March 2016
    on a trem routed strat a swimming pool route means you have almost no  wood between bridge and neck, that just doesn't sit right with me.   

I don't think its the loss of mass you will hear, but the potential loss of stiffness with a full swimming pool and trem route

personally i would rather have something  like this

than this

• SporkySporky Frets: 29140
    edited March 2016
    On the upside it means you can bung in pretty much any pickups you want.

My Talman has an Olympic swimming pool rout and sounds ace. It's also made from wood pulp and resin.

http://monkeyfx.co.uk/pictures/Talman/routtop.jpg