Advice on Recording Some Solo Acoustic + Vocal Videos

What's Hot
RocknRollDaveRocknRollDave Frets: 6527
edited March 2016 in Studio & Recording
OK, total recording novice here, apologies if this covers well-worn ground in this sub-forum, as I don't normally frequent the arcane world of recording.

In a nutshell: I want to record some videos of me doing a few tunes on acoustic guitar - just me playing and singing along.
They do not need to be pro- quality, but they need to have a home-made charm about them and be clear - NOT "dodgy mobile phone from a distance at a gig" quality.

I do not have a home recording set-up, nor the money to invest in one...This is what I DO have at my disposal:

Laptop (with webcam built-in)
iPad
iPhone
Basic Wavelab audio editing software
Audacity software
Zoom H2 handheld recorder
Full live PA (including mics)
Basic Canon digital camera that takes halfway decent video footage.

What I am thinking is I would like to be able to take the audio as a separate feed - I have worked out I can record audio directly into Audacity (or other programe) on the laptop using the Zoom as a microphone only. Then I can take a basic video from either the iPad, iPhone or Canon, and using some kind of video editing software I can match up the audio and video, rather than using the inbuilt mic on the iPad/iPhone/ Canon. I would also like to add a few basic video effects too, such as title screen, maybe add in footage from another camera/ video source.

Bottom line is I need to make the best of what resources I have as I have close to zero budget for additional kit...Maybe I could stretch to a basic USB mic if it will make a significant difference and can be bought by a pauper.

Any thoughts, suggestions, pitfalls to look out for etc for a total novice?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitarfishbayguitarfishbay Frets: 7963
    edited March 2016