Interesting...EU Passports?

What's Hot
digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 27093
edited June 2016 in Off Topic
Just spotted this:

Basically, they're considering giving students European passports so they can study abroad. Now, this is interesting, because - to my knowledge - there's no such thing as a European passport, only passports issued by member states which confirm EU citizenship as a side-effect of being a citizen of a member state.

So...if they do this, then they're actually creating a new type of passport for a particular class of people, which - to my understanding of EU discrimination law - they can't withhold from other classes of individual, on the basis that it's ageism-by-proxy (on average). Alternatively, if there's no age-based component, you could register as a student at any age and get the right to a passport (thus skipping any potential future visa requirements if freedom of movement isn't part of the exit deal).

Now, obviously I'm not a lawyer, but surely if they're successful this would open the door to the possibility of other UK citizens being able to challenge the class-specific nature of it and get an EU passport which is valid after we've left the EU?
<space for hire>
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17917
    tFB Trader
    The condition might be that you earn a scholarship at a top university and complete your course in which case I expect they will be happy to dish out a passport.
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 27093
    The condition might be that you earn a scholarship at a top university and complete your course in which case I expect they will be happy to dish out a passport.
    If you complete the course, you're no longer a student...which kind of defeats the point. The article is obviously light on details, but even so...creating this new EU passport and restricting it to a class of people strikes me as very open to a discrimination challenge.