Replacement neck and middle pick up

What's Hot
I bought a  2nd hand dirt cheap Fender Telecaster modern player as a spare guitar- it has the SSH configuration. The Humbucker being in the bridge position and it's coil tapped, sounds ok!

Having just purchased my 1st ever Fender Amp ( Fender Princeton 68 Reverb) a fabulous amp by the way

I am a little disappointed that the centre and neck pick ups through this amp have lost a lot of the Tele twang - so my question is:

What pick ups are out there to replace these and give me back my true - Tele sound????

Les :)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Lez325Lez325 Frets: 95
    No one knows then?????
  • DrBobDrBob Frets: 3043
    I'm no expert but I'm thnking that the easiest way to get a 'true' Tele sound, in the neck position at least would be to get a proper Tele pickup in the neck position.
    I have seen 'Nashville' style guards which have a T type hole in the neck and then a Strat pickup in the middle position. If you've got a Tele ashtray type bridge but with a humbucker in the back you might have to widen the cutout at the back of the pickguard to accomodate it as I think I'm right in saying humbucker Tele bridges are a bit wider than normal Tele ones but that might be a start.
    Dont know if there's an easy solve for the middle position as thats not something you'll find on a stock Tele !
    As for the bridge, if you wanted to get an even more Tele tone there might I recommend the Oil City Brass Knuckle, as @ICBM has said on more than one occasion splitting to just the front coil gives a very good approximation of the Tele bridge pickup because it isnt wound like a standard bucker.
    I currently have one on the bridge of my Strat that I might be looking to move on as it goes. It's brilliant at what it does but I'm after a more classic bridge humbucker sound.

Dont know if that helps at all !
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom