Frustrating Pickup Installation Day! Help!

timmysofttimmysoft Frets: 1962
I've spent most of today trying (and failing) to do a very simple installation, so i'm resorting to the forum for help!

All i'm trying to do is put a Seymour JB into my Levinson, but i'm getting a whole heap of buzz. I've tried two different pots, two different jack sockets, i even tried swapping out the pickup for one i know is quiet and then that one buzzed too!

The layout i'm going for is just one JB, Volume Pot, Output. Its the simplest wiring ever and i've done it to about 15 other strats over the past 20 years, but this bastard won't stop buzzing! I'm not a novice with an iron, but this has really frustrated me, i've spent 8 hours on it today!

Suggestions.

Note: its not my amp or leads, tested those with another guitar and they're fine, but something in this guitar is being very weird, is there something i'm missing?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 73087
    Do you have a bridge ground wire?

Is the jack socket wired the right way round?

Are all the grounds connected to the volume pot?

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• timmysofttimmysoft Frets: 1962
    yeah, i've got all those things @ICBM , The only thing i'm doing differently to my usual is that i'm using CTS pots instead of alphas. 
    Did you bend the ground terminal back onto the pot body? Sometimes that can cause the rivetting to come loose on a CTS. If you did, try squeezing the terminal hard onto the track board with a pair of narrow-nose pliers.

You would usually spot this because the volume control doesn't go all the way down to zero though. What happens when you turn it right down - does the buzz stop?