So how do you folks use delay?

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• PyromanPyroman Frets: 58
      Don't Mad Professor also make an OD/+ delay pedal called Mad Cello?  I see them for sale at GC all the time.  Tried one out once, but I was a rank newb then, and had no idea how to use it effectively... 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17872
    tFB Trader
    Golden Cello - It's an exclusive to one of the big US shops I think
  • ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3611

So how do you folks use delay?

I'll tell you later.

;-)
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • PyromanPyroman Frets: 58
    Golden Cello - It's an exclusive to one of the big US shops I think
    Hah- I knew it was something like that.
  • paulkpaulk Frets: 318
    Most of the time I just double to thicken up the sound a bit.  
  • GassageGassage Frets: 31119
    Does anyone parallel mix their delay? You really should try this for lovely lush clean crisp delay

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.

tFB Trader
    Gassage said:
    Does anyone parallel mix their delay? You really should try this for lovely lush clean crisp delay
    Through a different amp?
    edited January 2014
    No, thru a parallel mixing box like a gigrig wetbox or a badger schism?

Basically, you split the input signal into 2, put on half into delay and return only the trails, then remix at output stage so you get a much more accurate trail without a ghost note on the core note (if that makes sense).

With a Wetbox you can add an exp pedal to adjust the mix, which is fab in a very Edge way.

Uber expensive units like the TES do it internally. Gilmour is the king of delay and all his delays are mixed like this. If you want more info I did a long thread on TGP on this and I'll c and p it.

It makes a huge difference but you need to get a delay unit that has the dry kill function otherwise pointless.