Les Paul Nut Material...What's best?

What's Hot
Just noticed the 2017 Classic range have Nylon Nuts. I'm no expert on Nuts, but, from my limited research, the LP's of today seem to have Tek-Toid or Graph Tec or some other weird sounding ones. I assume some of these are self lubricating nuts??

I found this horrific picture of someones new 2017 LP Classic Nut on TGP.

http://www.thegearpage.net/board/index.php?threads/gibson-2017-lineup-on-musicians-friend.1741356/page-10

You can clearly see a stress crack in the finish, but, is it my eyes, or do these nuts really protrude that far out from the board, it looks like one of MD Phillips Nuts.

Don't forget, I'm a novice on LP's features and Nuts and I'm just using descriptions for humour ;)

So, is Nylon OK? How do the different types stand up to each other?

Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3362
    edited December 2016 tFB Trader
    That's all I use on Lp's, when they're set up they stay in tune so can't complain, apart from they are a pita to make.
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • I believed they used Unicorn horn on the 59 models which are widely regarded to be the best
    The Bigsby was the first successful design of what is now called a whammy bar or tremolo arm, although vibrato is the technically correct term for the musical effect it produces. In standard usage, tremolo is a rapid fluctuation of the volume of a note, while vibrato is a fluctuation in pitch. The origin of this nonstandard usage of the term by electric guitarists is attributed to Leo Fender, who also used the term “vibrato” to refer to what is really a tremolo effect.
    8reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • That's all I use on Lp's, when they're set up they stay in tune so can't complain, apart from they are a pita to make.