The Stratocaster and Telecaster

What's Hot

Comments

• ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3598
    Leo designed (or oversaw) the first production electric guitar, then upgraded the design to a stratocaster and designed and developed electric bass as a concept and put it into mass production. Many albums of the era and through into the 70s refferred to people playing 'Fender Bass' because essencially there were no other real contenders other than upright slap bass. Gibson only developed the Les Paul once they saw the Califorian upstart getting a lead on sales, before that they considerred it a fad/joke. The upper fret access on a Tele or Strat needs to be considerred in relation to all other guitars available at the time they were developed, as such they were radical and way ahead of the competition (flat top acoustics and arch top jazzers with glued in necks).

Not bad for a self taught radio fixer.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Strat54Strat54 Frets: 2444
    They should have quit designing in 1954...job done, put your feet up. Here's my latest '94 Custom Shop made 40 years after their launch....still the same.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e128/Telesquire/Motorola V50 2nd/A3C647D5-BA3E-402A-80C2-8E7C0BB2AB70_zpsqsybvwo4.png

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • TTBZTTBZ Frets: 2942
    edited January 2017
    I like the idea/ethos (sturdy, well designed and well priced) of Fender guitars but never really get on with them. I have small hands and I'm used to Gibsons so the scale length ruins it for me. Teles are the closest I've come to really enjoying playing a Fender but the scale length makes it harder work than it needs to be. A 24.75" tele would be ideal for me.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • olafgartenolafgarten Frets: 1648
    I agree that Strats are amazing, I never through an LP was uncomfortable until I got a Strat, heavy yes, but not uncomfortable.