Help with Strat mod wiring

DJSmoothMoneyDJSmoothMoney Frets: 0
edited January 2017 in Guitar
So I have a strat type guitar and have planned out a control set up that I want to try out. I am really interested in carrying out the mod myself and learning how to do so but I need some help due to a less conventional approach I have. 

I plan to convert one of my tone knobs into a master tone for all three pickups in my guitar and blocking off the tremolo. But the main change I plan on making to to remove the 5-way switch from the circuit and replace it with a 5-way rotary switch. Due to this I am unable to find any wiring diagrams that match my requirements and as I am new to this I can not create one myself and so I am looking for some help. I believe I can use this 5-way switch ( http://www.stewmac.com/Pickups_and_Electronics/Components_and_Parts/Switches/Rotary_Switches.html ) but would love someone to confirm this for me.

I have an image of my plan bellow that should help explain what I am after. In short, here is the info that would help me out:

~How do I go about blocking off a regular strat type tremolo?
~Is this ( http://www.stewmac.com/Pickups_and_Electronics/Components_and_Parts/Switches/Rotary_Switches.html ) 5-position rotary switch what I need for my pickup selector?
~How would I wire the strat with 3 pickups, 1 volume, 1 master tone, 1 5-position rotary switch?

Image ( http://imgur.com/IrPV3J6 )
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 74489
    What pickup combinations are you trying to achieve? Or are you wanting to do it so you can physically move the switch away from the stock position?

If it's different combinations you want, it's actually much easier to use a 5-way 'Superswitch' which is a direct replacement for the stock lever switch. These actually *are* 4-pole, 5-way rotary switches! Just mounted sideways and with a lever to turn them instead of a knob.