Does anyone here play guitar and violin?

What's Hot
If so, what was first?

If guitar was first, was violin hard to learn?
Wer nicht für Freiheit sterben kann, der ist der Kette wert.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitars4youguitars4you Frets: 15430
    tFB Trader
    Violin is accepted as one of the hardest instruments to learn to play

A piano is a mechanical instrument in that the note is already there, you just press the appropriate key
    Guitar is semi mechanical - Yes the note is there, but you still need to fret it and pick it
    Violin is like a trombone - You have to develop a good ear to obtain the correct pitch - And that is only for starters

Certainly one of the worse sounding instruments in the hands of a complete beginner 
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16667
    edited October 2020
    Violin is accepted as one of the hardest instruments to learn to play

A piano is a mechanical instrument in that the note is already there, you just press the appropriate key
    Guitar is semi mechanical - Yes the note is there, but you still need to fret it and pick it
    Violin is like a trombone - You have to develop a good ear to obtain the correct pitch - And that is only for starters

Certainly one of the worse sounding instruments in the hands of a complete beginner 
    Having attended many school orchestra and group performances the progress of kids on violins, cellos, etc, in terms of getting a recognisable tune is tiny compared to anything else. I was always amazed at how quickly they could progress with the harp but the string groups would be cacophony.

Still not answering the question, sorry. 

I seem to recall that Pat MacManus was a very accomplished Irish fiddle player before picking up guitar ( and still incorporates it into his rock bands) and found the fretted beast to be a piece of piss to play in comparison.