Single coil sized ‘humbuckers’ - how close are they?

What's Hot
Crazyblue1779Crazyblue1779 Frets: 188
I’ve just picked up a rather lovely Mexican telecaster and I think this could become my main squeeze for a while. 

Although I’m impressed with the bite that a tele SC bridge pick up has, I need something hotter for metal. 

I’ve zero experience with single coil sized HB but I’m thinking that might be a good option for the bridge. How close (for heavy distortion) do they come to an actual HB?

Or do I look at getting this one routed at the bridge  for a full sized HB ( from what I’m lead to believe this isn’t an overly difficult job for an experienced tech?)

Any thoughts?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RevolutionsRevolutions Frets: 429
    edited July 18
    The endless list of professional musicians who use hot rails should probably speak for itself. I’ve always been interested in the DiMarzio chopper as well, although never looked past Seymour Duncan rails pickups.

since I’ve gotten older & less angry, the Cool rails is one of the best pickups ever.

oh, how close are they? They’ve got their own thing going on. But so does every single Humbucker.

But if I were you I’d go for a Bareknuckle Piledriver. I toured for years with one of those in my Tele. Amazing pickup that gives you tight, controlled telecaster with ridiculously high output, and yet it’s easy to tame. Metal for days. You have to own one to really understand how good it is.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 73540
    Not that close, but they still have a usefully thicker, more powerful and aggressive sound. The DiMarzio Chopper T is a good place to start.

Routing for a humbucker and finding a suitable HB-cutout bridge that fits the body holes isn't *that* difficult, but it's not trivial either - I would try the small pickup option first.