Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Songs you didn't appreciate until you tried to play them.

What's Hot

So 20 years.......sorry, 30 years ago I started playing in covers bands and consequently discovered how clever Beatles songs were.

This week had to learn Rebel Yell and realised how well put together that songs is.

Anyone else had the experience of learning a cover and being pleasantly surprised by the way it's constructed?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CabicularCabicular Frets: 2214
    Anything by Quo is always a bit of a surprise
    They have an undeserved reputation for simplicity ... Yeah you try it!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • GassageGassage Frets: 30948
    edited February 2016
    Go Your Own Way using the LB inversions as played on the electric.

Miles away from the cowboy chord version people tend to play.

Don't Dream It's Over- the rhythm is impossible for me.

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.

• I had that with Rebel Yell as well, a superbly crafted song...and a sure fire crowd pleaser as well, one of my favorite songs in our set.
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16301
    edited February 2016
    Probably a few but Special Brew comes to mind. I really hate that song. However, it's a workshop in how to arrange 3 chords and create something out of very simple elements, a whole greater than the sum of it's parts.

Oh, Embarrassment by Madness which has about 20 chords and several different sections and we could never get the timing right. Whilst in my head it was just a hummable ditty.

Although, TBH, anything with more than 3 chords I find pretty impressive.
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell.