Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

whats the point of compresor pedals

What's Hot

Comments

• ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3592
    I've been running an old BOSS RCL10 last in chain for so many years now it's just a part of my sound (mainly commercial covers, funk, soul and pop etc.). I must buy a backup in case it dies.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • 57Deluxe57Deluxe Frets: 7339
    This demo describes it loads....

<Vintage BOSS Upgrades>
    i use compressor all the time...and i play heavily distorted or fuzzed tones. I dont use it for compression as i do for sustain. I know it takes away a bit of dynamic, but not enough for me to be concerned with.
  • BucketBucket Frets: 7751
    edited February 2014
    I like compression a lot for clean sounds - especially with single-coils. Evens out the dynamics obviously, but also boosts the signal a touch which is useful for single-coils. I don't have it set to the point where it's audibly squashing the signal though, I prefer it to be more transparent in sound but to give me a little extra volume.

I've got a Mooer Yellow Comp (apparently based on the Diamond Compressor beloved of Johnny Marr) and it's perfect for my needs - good subtle boost, able to squish a bit should you be after that sound but best at being fairly transparent. And for £59 and barely any space taken up on my board, I'm pretty bloody happy with that. It's a keeper.
    - "I'm going to write a very stiff letter. A VERY stiff letter. On cardboard."