Parlour guitar

What's Hot
Hello,
I'm a beginner. I'm thinking about a Vintage v880 or a Tanglewood Java parlour guitar. Does anyone have any opinions?
One thing that is putting me off the tanglewood is the lack of fret markings, as a beginner they help me find my way around. Could I put dots on the frets or am I being silly?
Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FuzzdogFuzzdog Frets: 839
    I had a Tanglewood TW73 parlour for a few years, really superb guitar which more than held its own against many more expensive acoustics.  Never played the Java, but if it's anything like the more expensive versions, it'll be an absolute cracker.

Sold it last year due to thinning the herd a bit, and have regretted it ever since. :p
    -- Before you ask, no, I am in no way, shape or form related to Fuzzdog pedals, I was Fuzzdog before Fuzzdog were Fuzzdog.  Unless you want to give me free crap, then I'm related to whatever the hell you like! --
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Hi FD,
    Any feelings about the fret markings?
  • underdogunderdog Frets: 8334
    As long as it has fret markers on the side of the neck you will adjust very quickly to them not being on the board.

Not sure of the price of the guitars your mentioned but I have a faith parlour (the naked series one) and it's a lovely guitar, so worth seeing if they will fall in to your price range new or used.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • VimFuegoVimFuego Frets: 15488
    re the fret markings, you can always stick a couple of sticky dots on the fret board, they'll last until you learn your way round the fret board.

I'm not locked in here with you, you are locked in here with me.

• thanks all.
    oh, and welcome BTW, have a free WIS fret.

• timhuliotimhulio Frets: 1286
    tFB Trader
    Watch this demo. It's really impressive how good a £130 parlour guitar can sound.