Fender Custom Shop Prices

What's Hot
UncleBiffUncleBiff Frets: 52
I’m in the market for a Fender Custom Shop instrument, preferably a Tele but not ruling out a Strat (I have a Jazzmaster), so I’m looking everywhere online to see what’s around and I just can’t get my head around the price differences between different models that seem very similar. Is there any reason that I’m not aware of, or are the shops just making the prices up?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitars4youguitars4you Frets: 14865
    tFB Trader
    Without knowing the specifics of what you are looking at

The first differential is the finish - NOS - Closet - Journeyman - Relic - Heavy Relic - Listed in cheapest first and that can be £500/600 differential between the 5 options 

Hand wound p/ups can add £100/200

The price list/order form is effectively an ala carte menu - some options are free - Other cost more - ie 1/4 sawn maple for the neck and/or AAA dark rosewood - each on their own maybe only £50 on the order form, but add 2/3 options and you've made it £150 ish more expensive at cost price 

Depends on the dealers delivery date - 2020 and prices went up again - Most dealers will still have 2019 stock as well and even some 2018 and these will be at the pre-factory price increase + a potential differential on the exchange rate

In many ways Fender C/Shop don't make 100/200/300 of the same Strat, like a production model run - Hence 1 price across all the dealers - Effectively Coda, myself, Peach, Andertons etc would order 50/100 Strats with our choice of specs - as such my 59 would be fairly unique, and Coda's might be similar, yet still different, hence a price differential 

Hope that helps - But get back in touch for more info and any specific differentials
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom
  • barnstormbarnstorm Frets: 643