My Harley Benton 335 conversion to 12-string

What's Hot
I have ordered the parts and uploaded some images to a hosting site, so I don't have any excuse not to share this rather un-ambitious modding job with you.  I have a lot of experience of DIY stuff in general, and the adjective I would apply to most of my work is 'sloppy', but, hey, at least I'll give it a go.
OK, so this is the unsuspecting 335-alike, the donor vehicle.

Most of the conversion work will be in the headstock area, so this is what I'm starting with

I worked out that there was a good chance of fitting all the extra tuners onto the existing headstock, without enlarging it, if I re-positioned the 'main string' tuners, and I worked it all out in Photoshop.  The secondary tuners are banjo-style planetary tuners, like this:

and from the back:

The tuners I Photoshopped in are Firebird-style ones, but they proved to be pretty costly, so I have ordered banjo ones from China.  These should actually be smaller, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
While I'm waiting I have been thinking about the final finish of the front of the headstock, and I will probably veneer over all the new drilling work.  It will need a new logo, and I really don't like the existing Harley Benton logostyle, which is in the dreaded Brush Script, so I designed my own in MOP, (owing something to the Bugatti logo . . )

If I can manage all that intricate marquetry it should look something like this:

and this:

So, that's the story so far.  If and when my bits turn up I'll post some more.
Please feel free to comment, tell me how it won't work etc.  I haven't done anything irreversible yet!

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16999
    I wouldn't cross the string paths

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • JohnS37JohnS37 Frets: 356