Removing Cigarette Odor From A Guitar

What's Hot

Comments

• OffsetOffset Frets: 11684
    @chillidoggy may be able to offer some advice on how to mask the smell of fag smoke.  However, be careful what you wish for... sometimes the cure is worse than the ailment.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • stonevibestonevibe Frets: 7143
    Rub cat piss on it  ;)

Win a Cort G250 SE Guitar in our Guitar Bomb Free UK Giveaway 

2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I have a 70s Fender Musicmaster that stank. T-cut and polish, as suggested above, worked for me.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Before the T-cut I did put red cedar chips in the hard case, which seemed to slowly help, but I got impatient!
  • mark123mark123 Frets: 1325
    Revitalised this thread, picked up a vintage lemon drop locally but smells of cigarette smoke,not bad but you can smell it , do i use naptha/ lighter fluid to clean then t-cut then as much fresh air as possible ? Or the other way round ? t- cut then naptha ? I'm going with naptha first as that's the cleaner then t-cut second as that's the polish ?  
    Or in 2023 is there a new/ better method ?
  • theatreanchortheatreanchor Frets: 1436
    Use a British odour. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 18754
    mark123 said:
    Revitalised this thread, picked up a vintage lemon drop locally but smells of cigarette smoke,not bad but you can smell it , do i use naptha/ lighter fluid to clean then t-cut then as much fresh air as possible ? Or the other way round ? t- cut then naptha ? I'm going with naptha first as that's the cleaner then t-cut second as that's the polish ?