Beginner build thread - Harley Benton TE kit

What's Hot
Hi everyone. My wonderful wife bought me a Harley Benton TE kit for my birthday this week. I'm really looking forward to building it.

I'm not especially handy in DIY terms, I haven't really done any woodwork since I left school and I've never done anything remotely luthier-ish before. I'm slowly learning basic setup skills, but I'm no expert. In other words, I have very little applicable skills for this project at all. Which is great! I'm seeing this as an opportunity to learn new skills and understand more about how guitars work. I picked the TE kit because it doesn't get any simpler than a tele, and for my first ever kit build, simple is good!

I have a few basic principles for the project:
  • The goal is to have fun and learn things. I'm hoping for a decent guitar at the end of it but I'm not expecting miracles.
  • Things will go wrong. That's to be expected. I'm hoping I'll be able to fix most issues.
  • Simple is good. I have some crazy ideas, but for my first build I'm going to try and keep it simple.
  • Finished is better than perfect.
  • I'm going to take lots of notes and photos as I go, and use this thread to document everything.

The first task will be to assemble everything as is to check the fit. I'm hoping to do that over the weekend.

Here we go!  =)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RichACRichAC Frets: 747
    Here's the body and neck, fresh out of the box:

One thing i've noticed is some of the screw holes and cavity routing isn't especially cleanly finished.

Control cavity:

Neck pocket holes:

I'm assuming that I can clean these up easily enough. I don't want spiky bits of wood in the control cavity snagging and damaging the wires. I'm thinking maybe using a scalpel to cleanly cut off the scraggy ends and then sand it clean. 
    RichAC said:

Neck pocket holes: