Bass amp required - Help

What's Hot
robmac5150robmac5150 Frets: 178
I'm a guitarist (of sorts). A bass player mate of mine is looking for a new amp. He is a cracking player bt in his own words has "made do" for years . So he plays in 4 bands - doesn't drive ! Any recommendations ??? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I recently switched from an Ampeg SVT with 8x10 to a Helix Rack, and much prefer it, much more portable and I can get all of the sounds I need out of it. Really good option! 
  • louis_LLM said:
    I recently switched from an Ampeg SVT with 8x10 to a Helix Rack, and much prefer it, much more portable and I can get all of the sounds I need out of it. Really good option! 
    What monitoring do u use/need?
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72415
    I'm a guitarist (of sorts). A bass player mate of mine is looking for a new amp. He is a cracking player bt in his own words has "made do" for years . So he plays in 4 bands - doesn't drive ! Any recommendations ??? 
    In the words of a bass player I know, who doesn't drive...

"The best bass amp is someone else's PA". ;)

It's difficult to get a *properly* usable bass amp - if that has to include the speaker - that you can carry by yourself on public transport. I have an Ibanez Promethean combo - it's a 500W 1x10", just loud enough to hold its own against a moderately loud drummer, but even though I've replaced the speaker with a lighter neodymium one it's at the very upper end of what I would consider portable over any real distance without a car. It comes in a neat shoulder bag, and weighs 12Kg/25lb, but it's still a 30cm+ cube and quite awkward, especially if also carrying a bass even in a gig bag. I also recently tried a Markbass Micromark which was a *bit* smaller and lighter - although not that much really - but much less capable as an amp.