Tele Kit Build

What's Hot
NewTimerNewTimer Frets: 35
edited December 2022 in Making & Modding
Hey everyone, hope your weekend went swell. I’m starting a stewmac kit build and thought I’d share. This is my first time here so bear with me. I stumbled upon tFB by the way of SOS forums, and have spent the last few months reading over guitar builds and have decided to take the plunge.

I have played guitars for years but never thought much of modding my own guitars or building them. I’ve never owned a Tele style guitar, just strats and LP’s, and thought that maybe I should just go about making one how I’d like it instead of shelling out the cash on an American made fender just yet. 

I’ve done very minimal woodworking / soldering in my time but I’m looking forward to learning (and goofing up). 

Sorry for the journal entry, I just wanted to let everyone know where I’m coming from. On to the build.

I ordered a “T Style” StewMac kit to start with. None of the components are fantastic of course, the tuners will be the first things to go.

reshaped the head stock today, first time using a jigsaw, I used a half round file to clean it up before sanding

https://i.imgur.com/ZSOP0kE.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/YArZ7uq.jpg

I started sanding through the grades, and decided to use some simple boiled linseed oil for the finish. I’ve only one initial coat on, I’m going to attempt Wez’s wet sanding and final wax method sans the TruOil. I used BLO simply because it was immediately available. Depending on how this turns out I might try the TruOil in the future. I’ll approach this with more coats in a few days.

Professional hanging setup:
https://i.imgur.com/tpSrgMr.jpg

I feel lucky with how my headstock carve came out:
https://i.imgur.com/rOZJdFY.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/h9EFMjH.jpg

Hopefully by Christmas time I’ll be ready to start filing and crowning the frets.