Tele Kit Build

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• usedtobeusedtobe Frets: 3842
    Looks awesome! Love the look of it!!
     so if you fancy a reissue of a guitar they never made in a colour they never used then it probably isn't too overpriced.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Thanks folks, I really appreciate it. 

Well I stripped the whole thing done again, and copper foiled all of the cavities. I have never done that before, but I really enjoyed measuring out all the pieces and while it could have been cleaner I’m sure, it came out really neat. Soldered small joints between each piece, and the used a multimeter to check for continuity between all the pieces. Spent about an hour on it and it came out great. Copper tape on the back of the pickguard as well.

Realizing that the neck cavity couldn’t be grounded another way I soldered a piece of wire that fed from the neck cavity through to the control cavity, and soldered the connection to ensure the neck cavity was totally grounded.

Grounding from jack > pot > control plate >  copper shielding in control cavity > finally through wire to neck cavity.

Probably massive overkill, but plugging it in (sans strings) reduced an incredible amount of hum. I also found a few ground connections in the wiring that showed some sporadic resistance, and resoldered cleaner connections. Much more confident in my wiring now.

I forgot to take pictures however if I need to open it up again I will. 

Resanded the finish of the neck, started at 80 grit 3m and worked up to 1000 grit wet dry, then a couple coats of TruOil and rub down with micro mesh and the neck is so smooth. Should have done it better first time.

next I’ll be redoing the fret level and dressing. I picked up one of these to solve my previous frustrations with the “z” file:
    https://www.stewmac.com/luthier-tools-and-supplies/types-of-tools/files/dual-grit-diamond-fret-file/