Should I upgrade a Floyd Rose 1000 to an Original Floyd Rose?

What's Hot

Comments

• KalimnaKalimna Frets: 1590
    Thanks for the reply - useful info.
    Now, do you think it's *worth* upgrading the trem from a Jem Jnr? Tuning stability or tone?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Kalimna said:
    Now, do you think it's *worth* upgrading the trem from a Jem Jnr? Tuning stability or tone?
    I’ve no experience to comment. @FelineGuitars might have tried one at some point, to comment
    Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
  • KalimnaKalimna Frets: 1590
    Kalimna said:
    I’ve no experience to comment. @FelineGuitars might have tried one at some point, to comment
    Ahh, fair enough. Im not sure which model  the trem is, but as the guitar itself is less than £500 it will be at the bottom end.
  • tekbowtekbow Frets: 1699
    Raj_UK said:
    Tom Anderson uses the Schaller Lockmeister which is proof enough of its quality.

Re: Gotoh EVH Musicman. Fender had exclusive distribution rights to the Original Floyd Rose in the early/mid 90's and wouldn't let EBMM use them. Hence the use of the Gotoh 1996T on the EVH.

As people have stated is a very good trem. Suhr and Tyler used for a long time during a dip in the quality of the OFR.

Nerd point of order, it was the 1988T on the EVH (the famous offset saddle screws). They switched to the 1996T for the Axis in 96. Some of the earlier Axis still have 1988Ts (I guess they had a stock that needed used up).
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • BoromedicBoromedic Frets: 5202
    Having used both a Schaller Lockmeister, a Schaller made OFR, and a Gotoh 1996T, I'd have a Gotoh tbh, it's more stable tuning wise and extremely well put together. The others are also well made but the Gotoh wins for me. 

The yard is nothing but a fence, the sun just hurts my eyes...