Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Frozen, then nuked-up food

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• As long as it's not "Frozen, Nuked Up then Puked Up" it's all good.

;-)
    Only a Fool Would Say That.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • johnnyurqjohnnyurq Frets: 1368
    Any student can tell you that a lot of nosh tastes awesome reheated even many days after first cooking.

Especially curry, chilli, spag bol and that sort of thing, as some said it must be sitting in their sauces etc wot does it.

Intersetingly (well to me anyhow) that trust me I am a doctor were looking at cold then cold and reheated pasta etc had health benefits of sorts.

• frankusfrankus Frets: 4719
    Drew_fx said:
    Hertz32 said:
    It's universally accepted that leaving these things to mature will improve the flavour. So, it could be that leaving it to cool down before freezing is enough, and it's not the freezing process that improves the flavour.

Another theory I've just thought up is that freezing may cause some of the lumpier bits to split - much like freezing a lettuce will turn it to mush, and much like how potholes are created by water freezing in cracks of roads. So, perhaps freezing food does help it to break down and thus taste better.

I can't imagine that microwaving has a massive effect. Doesn't it just heat the water particles in the food to boiling point, and they heat anything else up by conduction?