Kinda wanna do without an amp

What's Hot
kswilson89kswilson89 Frets: 227
So I'm looking into the idea of selling my valve amp and just using some sort of amp/cab simulator pedal for recording, practice and playing live. This is basically so I can just have everything fitting nice and compact on my pedalboard. I'm new to all this modern amp/cab sim technology and was just wondering what kind of set up the Fretboarders are using in this respect? Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated as I'm a dinosaur when it comes to this sort of thing!

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• spev11spev11 Frets: 420
    edited October 2023
    If you like fiddling then Amplitube etc is  great, if like me you'll spend more time fiddling than playing then  maybe not so much. I bought a Quilter superblock UK , its small, loud and can run from pedalboard power supply (9v) for 1w power or from its own supply for 25 watts, has a loop, line out, cab sims (which I quite like) and a lovely built in reverb. 
    Thats my two penneth
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27834
    edited October 2023
    It's never been a better time for amp-less setups. 

I've had an HX Stomp for years and use it all the time at home. For live I just picked up an Origin RevivalDrive which is ace. I'm plugging into the front of an amp, but I'm sure it'd be just as good into any decent IR/cab sim and straight to the PA or FRFR speaker. Or power amp and regular guitar cab if you're inclined. 

The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4397