I'd like to learn some guitar tech stuff

What's Hot
VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4814
edited February 26 in Guitar
I'm retiring end of April and one of the things I'd like to do is to learn how to do certain things including pick-up changing, changing pots, resistors, switch wiring, replacing a guitar nut, fret leveling/crowning etc.  I know this is second nature stuff to many of you, but I have no experience & I don't even think I know how to solder properly. 

I know there are you tube vids but I'd much rather learn from a real person who can physically help me & boost my confidence as I'm nervous about damaging any of my guitars if I get things wrong. I'm in North London and have been looking to see whether there are any courses I can go on but I can't seem to find any.  I'd really like to learn to do this type of stuff for myself.  Any suggestions?    
I started out with nothing..... but I've still got most of it left (Seasick Steve)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• joeWjoeW Frets: 507
    https://www.guitartechcourses.com/

I did this a few years ago.  Was very good tho I haven’t continued to do much myself as my soldering skills are shocking.  I still play the guitar I built but if I was to do it again I’d be picky with the parts to get something really special - I built a Jazzmaster which weighs a ton
  • bertiebertie Frets: 13578
    edited February 26
    Dan Erlewine book (s) are a great place to start
    just because you don't, doesn't mean you can't
     just because you do, doesn't mean you should.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 10reaction image Wisdom
  • pt22pt22 Frets: 332