1965 Gibson Firebird III Non Reverse safari find - more pictures

What's Hot
greggreg66greggreg66 Frets: 509
edited February 28 in Guitar
TL;DR - found a cool old Gibson tucked away in a customer's house, which I'm borrowing and want to buy.

Three years ago I was at a potential customer's house (I make kitchens for a living) to discuss a new job when out of the corner of my eye I spotted a particularly shaped Gibson headstock poking up from behind a desk - nestled in front of a radiator - in another room. At the time I thought it had to either be a Trini or a non reverse firebird judging from the headstock shape and naturally I HAD to find out what it was! I went back for another meeting and eventually asked to see it was, took a bad pic of it on my phone, had a chat about guitars for a bit, but that was more or less it. The husband did ask if I fancied bartering on it for a part trade on the kitchen, which naturally I said yes, but they put their renovation plans ultimately went on hold so that was it.

To save a long boring story, it took 3 years of waiting until their renovation plans started up and I got to go over there again. I spotted the guitar today, this time it was out in the living and was being used as a toy by their 5 year old granddaughter. It had the same 4 rusty strings on it and in my opinion needed some love (and rescuing)! At this point in the story I've now made their daughter's kitchen and wardrobes and am booked in to make their kitchen, so I'm not a stranger to them now! I said to them that I would love to take it away and restring it for them, maybe tinker with it then bring it back, which they loved the idea of, so amazingly it came home with me tonight. The notion of doing a trade was brought back up and is still potentially on the cards, which is tantalising.