Mountain bike people, a question or two?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3693
    For the bike have you got - or can you improvise - a bearing press?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3476
    edited March 27
    drofluf said:
    The top cup came out with just a wiggle, havent tried the bottom yet, I do have access to a whole workshop though so should be an easy enough job to do. I was a Land Rover mechanic before my health took a turn for the worst but my old boss is a very good friend and he lets me use the workshop when I need to, He's also a keen MTB rider so knows a bit about this kind of thing.
    A Deuce , a Tele and a cup of tea.
  • KurtisKurtis Frets: 662
    edited March 27
    robgilmo said:
    p90fool said:
    They're not built to last unfortunately, I'm always replacing bearings on our bikes.

My wife cycles thousands of miles a year and I have to go through every moving part every six months on both of her bikes. 

One thing you learn very quickly in the 21st century cycling world is that you're supposed to buy this year's colour every season and if you must actually ride the damn things, don't do it in the rain or frost. 
    p90fool said:
    They're not built to last unfortunately, I'm always replacing bearings on our bikes.

My wife cycles thousands of miles a year and I have to go through every moving part every six months on both of her bikes. 

One thing you learn very quickly in the 21st century cycling world is that you're supposed to buy this year's colour every season and if you must actually ride the damn things, don't do it in the rain or frost.