iPad Digital Art

What's Hot
monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17626
in Off Topic tFB Trader
I recently acquired an iPad Pro with a Pencil and that has prompted me to start fiddling around with doing some drawing. 

To give you some background I had any enthusiasm for wanting to draw well and truly beaten out of me at school and so I haven't drawn much more than a stick man in the last 30+ years and I am terrible at drawing. I'm mostly just drawing Mario characters etc to amuse the kids. 

I started on Procreate and I enjoyed that a lot, but I feel like I want more control to move things around and redo lines etc so I started playing around with a couple of vector packages like Amadine and Affinity (Similar to Adobe Illustrator, but without the silly cost). These give more control, but the process is much slower and less fun. I'm not sure if it's because those apps are much more pro and so I need to learn or if I'm trying to act like a professional graphic designer and I should stick to having fun with Procreate and this is just procrastination. 

I've noticed some of the pros who do tutorials seem to draw with something like Procreate and then use vector apps to trace over and tidy things up once they've done a sketch so maybe my workflow is wrong.

Interested if anyone enjoys some digital art and what apps / workflow you tend to use?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I use Affinity, I'm not very skilled but I do enjoy it, it's very calming and like most things I do now it really helps my Parkinson's.

0reaction image LOL 8reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 9547
    Procreate is one of the best, and easiest to use, imho :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 27064
    I use Procreate for drawing, Affinity Designer for graphic design. Both are excellent.
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires