Trying snowboarding at 58?

What's Hot
AirmilesAirmiles Frets: 41
The Father -Son ski-trip is fast approaching.

My 12yo is board-curious and I was pondering the wisdom of trying a half-day snowboard lesson as a change from our usual ski-ing.

I'm fit and strong for my age (deadlift 1.5x bodyweight), BUT I've always had this perception of early stage snowboarding being high-risk for wrists and shoulders. Since I've had issues with both in the past I'm feeling a bit wary of the idea.

What do people think? Is it advisable? Is a half day, realistically, even worth it?

I'm an expert skier and have always been told I'd find it easy but I'm sceptical it's that simple. OTOH, getting to manage a few basic turns would be really satisfying.

Thanks 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• KurtisKurtis Frets: 662
    edited March 29
    Kind of depends how much you throw yourself into it.
    Being a good skier you should pick it up quickly, but a half day certainly isn't much. 
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6391
    ankles/wrist - yes

the bruises on you bum will be worse ;)
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
  • droflufdrofluf Frets: 3693
    Be prepared to be bruised; I am (or was) a strong skier but even when I was skiing every day it took a lot to change my mindset from going forward with free feet to going sideways with them locked. 

But a whole lot easier than monoskiing. 
  • duotoneduotone Frets: 983
    For a half a day, I wouldn't bother tbh. Stick to the skiing & enjoy that.
  • DiscoStuDiscoStu Frets: 5516
    WEAR A HELMET.
    I cannot stress this enough. If you're getting a lesson then they should make you wear a helmet anyway but if you keep at it then don't take the risk.
    I had a snowboard accident. Slipped on an icy nursery slope, banged the back of my head, ended up with a brain tumour and major brain surgery to remove it. I was just wearing a woolly hat.