Advice on Re-String

What's Hot
PDGCPDGC Frets: 0
Hello All,   

I am relatively new to playing the guitar having picked it up again recently after a gap since childhood.

I had a cheap acoustic which I managed to restring myself.  

However, I recently purchased a Fender CD-140SCE Electric Acoustic.   

Is there a difference in restringing an Electric Acoustic to a normal Acoustic?  Would you recommend going to a professional? If it’s as ‘simple’ as a normal acoustic is there specific strings would you recommend?

Thanks in advance. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12413
    I would recommend looking on YouTube for Justin Sandercoe restringing an acoustic, process is the same but it’s worth doing properly. 

String choice is personal, I always use elixir coated strings as they stay decent far longer than normal strings but cost a bit more. Some people don’t like the feel. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • JayceeJaycee Frets: 310
    munckee said:
    I would recommend looking on YouTube for Justin Sandercoe restringing an acoustic, process is the same but it’s worth doing properly. 

String choice is personal, I always use elixir coated strings as they stay decent far longer than normal strings but cost a bit more. Some people don’t like the feel. 

• PDGCPDGC Frets: 0
    Good Morning and thank you.  I’ll take a look at the YouTube Video.  
  • droflufdrofluf Frets: 3730
    ...and if you ask seven guitarists the best way to restring you'll get nine different answers :) Even more if you ask them about the best strings.

But for restringing find a video that you can follow and use that method; it's not a dark art and with practice will become really easy. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
    Thank you.  Yes having watched several videos, including the recommended one above, I’ve seen 3 methods.