Ampless live rig…. Pedals & Dream 65 or Helix????

What's Hot
Here’s a straw poll question as I’m still a newbie to this… if you were to perform gigs ampless & straight to PA with in-ears for monitoring would you choose either a clean pedal platform like a UAFX Dream 65 (or similar) with a “normal” pedalboard supplying all effects and drives, or go the Helix route that does everything, but takes a lot of setting up/learning. Interested in your opinions 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I'd say it depends what you're already most familiar with and how you normally like to set up. If your current set up is pedals into a clean Fender-flavoured amp (and you're happy with it) then transitioning to the pedals+Dream 65 will seem intuitive and an absolute doddle. 

Helixes are wonderful things, but probably overkill unless you want/need to have dozens of different amp models to play with.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 28098
    Or option 3: use a ToneX ONE with your existing pedalboard.

In truth, that or the Helix will definitely do the job. The Helix will give you more options, like having outputs with and without cab blocks on the end, but it really depends what you think you're going to need.
    <space for hire>
  • RolandRoland Frets: 9130
    It depends on personal circumstance. What I like about things like Helix (I use Fractal) is the integrated switching. In a covers band context, with no gaps between songs, I can have FX and amp configurations per song, and step on a pedal labelled “Intro” without having to set tap tempo and think about amp and FX settings and lighting changes. In a blues band, with consistent amp sounds and limited use of FX I’d do things differently.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • SupportactSupportact Frets: 1306