Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

It finally happened, the day I've been dreading since the birth of our first child

What's Hot

Comments

• I have a flipping maths degree and I say long division is pointless and unnecessary and it saddens me that they still teach it.
    Isn't that a bit like saying we don't need to teach boolean algebra because everybody works at FPGA or VLSI level? or that gear-shifting & clutch control is unnecessary because of automatic gearbxoes?
    I don't know what those things are.

In any case, my point is that regular long division isn't a very good algorithm for solving division problems, but also it doesn't particularly help explain the logic of *why* 161 divided by 14 is 11.5 or whatever.

As many have said, the important thing is to understand the nature of division and multiplication and then you can do anything.

It's like giving the man the fish rather than teaching him how to fish, except you're telling him go to the beach in a specific place and use a specific fishing line and fish will randomly appear on the end of the string, when you could instead show him that fish live in the sea and if you get a boat and a net you can go wherever you want across the sea and catch loads of fish whenever you want to.
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • But learning how to manipulate them is part of appreciating how they work. Otherwise it's like giving people pictures of scale patterns on a guitar without letting them play them on a real instrument.
    I'd say it's more like teaching endless scales without letting the kid listen to Led Zepellin...
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom