Pension

What's Hot

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10773
    TTony said:

viz said:
    I've been paying into a Zurich pension since 2000. I looked at the valuation yesterday and compared it with the amount that was paid in, and calculate that, after charges (totalling 39k!!!) it has grown at 0.002485%. If anyone wants to pay me 39k to keep their money under a mattress, please PM me.
    You've paid c£3k/yr in fees ???

That's either a very large pension pot that they're (not) looking after for you, or you're getting (or paying for) some incredible level of service!

However, depending on when you invested (pre/post the early 2000's crash) you've suffered either 1 or 2 general stockmarket crashes in that period.  If you were invested in a basic FTSE-100 tracker, that level of growth is about right, scarily.

Chart forFTSE 100 (^FTSE)

Of course, the job of the investment professional is to out-perform the standard UK index ... but that'll depend on the level of direction that you gave them, your stated risk appetite, etc.

I rather think the latter. Cheers for the graph, nice one. But to my eyes, even at tracker rates,the average looks like 5000, invested an average of 6 years ago, and the current looks like 6500, which is 4% a year.
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • You're better off than the bloke I knew who paid £39k into a pension fund and was told it was worth £32k when he retired.

"Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
    Eurgh horrible
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.