Did my valve redplate?

PaulRRPaulRR Frets: 11
I just fitted a matched pair of new TAD EL-84 STRs to my Jim Root Terror. After about an hour of playing, one of the valves started sparking purple, and the volume died. I switched the amp off immediately, and then tried it again a few hours later. The amp was making sound again, but it seemed to sound rougher, and the valve that had gone purple now wasn't glowing at all. I'm guessing the valve needs replacing, but I'm no expert...

If anyone has any advice, I'd be very grateful.

Cheers,
Paul.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72643
    It didn't redplate, but it is most definitely deceased... the purple fireworks of death are pretty, but conclusive.

Don't run a cathode-biased amp like this one with only one functional power valve, it's very bad for the other one. You may have got away with it, but replace both of them anyway and keep the surviving valve as a spare if the seller doesn't accept returns.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• jpfampsjpfamps Frets: 2734
    It's almost certainly arced over and died.

The amp will sound bad because only one of the 2 power valves isn't working.

You shouldn't run the amp with only one valve in it.

It will need replacing.
  • PaulRRPaulRR Frets: 11
    Thank you both - I'll pop the original valves back in and hopefully get a replacement set. 60 minutes seems a little on the light side for valve life...!

This forum is a great resource, and the advice is much appreciated.

Cheers,
    Paul.
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1639

I had a weird problem with batches of TAD EL84s.