NGD - My first Gibson

What's Hot
RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
edited May 2015 in Guitar
I've wanted a Les Paul since I started playing nearly 20 years ago.  I thought the urge had passed when I got my PRS SE 245 and loaded it with some of Oil City's finest.  However when I spotted this on Thomann I couldn't resist.  Okay, it's not a standard but the lack of figured top, binding etc doesn't bother me.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5256888/2015-05-31 10.06.18.jpg

It's a Les Paul Future Tribute.  Thomann have them at ~£500 but this one was a B-stock item which was at ~£460.  I've been over it thoroughly and I can only spot one issue and it took me a good while to realise what the actual issue was

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5256888/2015-05-31 10.06.37.jpg

Clearly the bridge volume knob is sitting a little proud.  On closer inspection the knob slightly different to the others so I'm guessing the original knob was lost at some point and this was the closest they could find to replace it.  I'll change it at some point but it's not a major concern at the moment.

I'm sure most will have noticed the tuners. 

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/5256888/2015-05-31 10.07.11.jpg

I was almost certain that I'd be swapping out the Steinberger tuners but having changed the strings I actually really like them.  The string change was so much easier and the tuners are smooth and accurate.  Only time will tell if I can get along with the aesthetic side of things.