Help - make my squier affinity pretty!

What's Hot
Hey people - 

I've never modded any of the guitars Ive owned. I have a squire affinity tele - its way down the pecking order and probably has no sell on value (though is actually really nice to play!) so I figure it's the one to start experimenting on!!! 

Firstly I'd like to change the pick guard - purely for cosmetic purposes - is this easy to do? Are replacements easy to find and fit?

Secondly I'd like to change the bridge from the style it is now (With five little string things - you can see I am a technical expert) to one with three string thingy's like you see on a Baja - purely cus it'll be easier to restring! Is this possible?

Ta people! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• AlnicoAlnico Frets: 4616
    edited February 2016
    Hey man

The simple answer is Yes, it's very easy to do this.

1 - Pickguard.
    Work out how many screw holes you have and start looking around.
    Allparts
    Richtone
    Scratch-It will make you a custom plate from a template of your original

Google them to find what you like the look of.

2 - The string thingys are called 'Saddles' and they sit in a 'Bridge'.
    At the moment you have SIX little string things, unless one has fallen off. This is known as a 'Modern Style' Bridge and the one you want is a 'Vintage Style' bridge which uses Three 'Saddles', each one carrying two strings at a time.

Getting hold of one of these isn't difficult and as you play an Affinity Telecaster, you should have something called a 'Toploader' which means your strings don't go through the body to the back of the guitar, they should just go to the back of the bridge and be visible from the rear of the guitar whilst you're looking at the top of the guitar.
    This will help you in this case because if they went through the body as most of the Fender's do, you would maybe have problems with getting it all to line up.