White goods advice needed.

What's Hot
I may well be in the market for a fridge freezer and also a washing machine.  Is there any advice you good folk can throw my way reference buying this stuff.  I am a total noob when it comes to this stuff.

I appreciate that @chillidoggy is likely to give me grief after hassling him over the toaster-gate incident.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 29146
    AO are shit.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
  • Paul_CPaul_C Frets: 7922
    My (now ex) missus made us buy a Bosch washing machine, which survived everything she did to it and is now mine, it seems pretty good.

"I'll probably be in the bins at Newport Pagnell services."  fretmeister
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • chrispy108chrispy108 Frets: 2336
    AO were fine for me.

I bought a Fisher & Paykel Fridge Freezer on Black Friday from John Lewis. It's awesome, and the delivery guys were great.
  • scrumhalfscrumhalf Frets: 11429
    edited June 2016
    Appliances Direct were good for me.

Unlike some retailers they delivered up some stairs to my first floor flat. Some will only deliver to the ground floor.

I suppose if they hadn't they would have had to call themselves Appliances Indirect.
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    I have a Bosch freezer and a Bosch fridge freezer. The former is 12 years old and still trucking.

Also a Zanussi washer-dryer, also 12 years old.
  • Sporky said:
    AO are shit.
    @Sporky, what went wrong?
    The delivery time kept moving - by five hours in total. The delivery guys broke the door. They didn't do the setup I'd paid for.

AO's response was basically "Ah, well, these things happen."

So I sent American Express after them. Amex sorted it all out with extreme prejudice. :)
  • mudslide73mudslide73 Frets: 3110