Playing in Middle Age verus your Younger Days

What's Hot

Comments

• ReverendReverend Frets: 5201
    I'm in my 40s and most of my guitars are still tuned down to C. 

I have a couple in e flat to play thrash on. Still use 100w heads and humbuckers and still play very heavy. It wasn't until i hit my thirties that I worked out hot get a half decent sound. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 23699
    edited October 2016

I started playing at 16 and for years I dreamed of being a super-shreddy guitar hero.

At 52 I couldn't really give a shit about guitar heroics and (although I still think no song is complete without a guitar solo) I'd be happy just to be able to clumsily bash out a few well known songs.

At no time in those 36 years have I ever practised hard enough to achieve either of those aspirations.  Nowadays I just don't have the time (yes I know I could free up at least an hour a day by not being on here, but trying to concentrate on guitar would require far too much effort at that time of day).

I often think about starting again from scratch but I still don't really have much idea of the "best" or most efficient way to cut to the chase and learn the stuff I actually want to learn.

Recently I've been thinking about abandoning the whole idea then starting up again when I retire and have some time on my hands... but that's effectively writing off the next 15 years of my life in the blink of an eye. :(

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • andyozandyoz Frets: 718
    Good point @Gassage about maybe concentrating on what you're good at.

I think I'll always have more affinity for rhythm than for lead - starting as an acoustic guitarist maybe tends to do that...