Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

I'm bored with guitar

What's Hot

Comments

• Lots of good advice so far, I've been playing off and on for (gulp) 40 years.   I've gone through spurts where I can't learn things fast enough, all the while playing in 2 or 3 different live bands at once to lulls where I didn't pick up a guitar for a couple of years.  Don't make it a stress trip, if you're not inspired take a break.  One day you will see or hear something that makes you want to grab the nearest guitar and go to work on it.  This has happened to me several times.  Different styles of music can be helpful, I started out like every other kid, playing rock but over the years I've studied and gigged as a classical player, learned a load of flamenco and accompanied flamenco dancers in a dance class and played bass off and on in bands.  My latest trip is writing and recording original spooky music using guitars, synths and computers.

“Theory is something that is written down after the music has been made so we can explain it to others”– Levi Clay

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • proggyproggy Frets: 5835

If you've been trying to learn the same two songs for four years without much progression, may I suggest you forget those songs for a while and try a couple of different ones that might be easier for you to grasp. You can go back to them as you improve. You should also consider seeing a guitar teacher and finding out where you're going wrong.

Don't give up though, that's not the done thing. you'll get there.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • take up knitting ;) ...
  • xSkarloeyxSkarloey Frets: 2962