Who's never played to an audience?

What's Hot

Comments

• mike_lmike_l Frets: 5700
    Blackjack said:
    I have not played to a 'proper' audience.  Have played twice with some friends at home infront of the other guests but not a real, public audience.  Have been wanting to try a beginners open mic for a while now but most people I speak to about it seem to think I am getting ideas above my ability so not done it yet. Would love to but.... 
    fuck the naysayers. Nobody at jam gives a fuck if you're a complete beginner or Steve Vai, all are given support and all are friendly.

Ringleader of the Cambridge cartel, pedal champ and king of the dirt boxes (down to 21) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • IamnobodyIamnobody Frets: 6936
    edited August 2017
    Here's my story which hopefully might encourage some people.

When I formed my first band I couldn't play a whole song. Joining the band meant I had to up my game and practice properly. We learnt about 20 odd covers together in the first 12 months and then over the next 4 years built up an original catalogue - largely thanks  to the singer who wrote lyrics to chords that we then worked up into full songs as a band.

That songwriting process together was great and we'd all chip in with ideas for each other. I miss that creative element now I'm not in that band.

I've gigged pubs all round my local area, a couple of small festivals and even in a shopping centre. I also played acoustic at mate's wedding for his future wife as she walked into the ceremony. His Sis sang and me and the other guitarist in our band played.

I'm one of the least able players on here from what I've read and heard from others - so if I can do that anyone can.

I'm not comfortable being on stage either  - it comes with time though. And alcohol!

I haven't done a gig for 6/7 years but still get together with others now and again to make some noise and play a few covers on our own terms.