Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

I don't like Les Pauls

What's Hot
There. I said it.

Until recently I owned a nice Korean 90's Les Paul, which played better than most Gibson's I've ever tried, however I never liked it. I don't like the tone, the fat neck profiles, the lack of trem, the pickup selector, the fact that the headstock breaks off if you look at it funny, etc. Really no redeeming qualities whatsoever for me!

Anyway, after having sold the Epi, I decided that as a guitarist I should really own a Les Paul so started GASing, as you do. After watching the Anderton's Les Paul Special Gibson vs Epiphone test, and seeing everyone rave about them, I grabbed a TV yellow Epiphone Les Paul Special thinking maybe the P90's would be the thing that changed my mind. Nope. Whilst I certainly prefer the tone out of this, probably because I can get some quack from the middle position, I just don't like the feel at all. Fat glossy necks, no thanks. I guess I'll move it on. Ho hum.

Feels like saying you don't like either Strats or Les Pauls is taboo as a guitarist... cathartic to admit it though - I won't waste my time trying again. Oh who am I kidding, I expect I'll buy another one in 6 months.

Anyone else want to confess?
1reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3362
    tFB Trader
    I've gone back to my short scale gibbo style guitars after making and playing recent fender type builds

My Les Paul just feels like home, same as juniors etc, I absolutely love my goldtop with bigsby too, I think it's the neck and scale length 

www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • beed84beed84 Frets: 2496
    edited November 2020