What films have you watched recently?

What's Hot

Comments

• MoominpapaMoominpapa Frets: 1649
    @Philly_Q - first time watching them. I hadn't been aware of him before,  but I'm enjoying the discovery now!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 25113
    @Moominpapa I've been a fan since Violent Cop in 1989, and I've seen all his films (as director) except the most recent one, Outrage Coda.  At first they only released his hard-boiled crime films in the West, so I had to get some of the gentler early films, like Kids Return or A Scene at the Sea on import DVD.

From Dolls (2002) he got a lot more arty and experimental - with mixed results, I didn't enjoy all of them.  Then he returned to crime films with the Outrage trilogy.
  • HaychHaych Frets: 6171
    Collateral

2004 action thriller staring Tom Cruise who is looking more like Richard Gere in this movie, and failing. 

The plot essentially is just Tom Cruise in hijacked taxi, using it and its driver (Jamie Fox) to run around LA and kill people. 

Watchable but only just. 

4.5/10

There is no 'H' in Aych, you know that don't you? ~ Wife

Turns out there is an H in Haych! ~ Sporky

Bit of trading feedback here.

• boogiemanboogieman Frets: 12902
    Haych said:
    Collateral

2004 action thriller staring Tom Cruise who is looking more like Richard Gere in this movie, and failing. 

The plot essentially is just Tom Cruise in hijacked taxi, using it and its driver (Jamie Fox) to run around LA and kill people. 

Watchable but only just. 

4.5/10

I always struggle with Tom Cruise as a hard ass action hero or villain. He’s just about bearable in the Mission Impossible flicks because they’re mostly played for laughs, but the serious stuff? Meh, forget it. Don’t get me started on him playing the 6 foot 5 inch Jack Reacher. 
  • AlbertCAlbertC Frets: 992
    edited April 2021
    Border