Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Buying a flat, getting a mortgage, and the BS that comes with it...

What's Hot

Comments

• holnrew said:
    The only time I've been to Luton is when my cousin married his cousin.
    But Luton isn't in Norfolk
    :-S
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • stedsted Frets: 259
    edited September 2014
    @drew_fx I work in the construction industry mate, albeit not on accommodation builds (thank fuck!) I can honestly say that modern building methods and materials are possibly the worst I have ever seen, not to mention the standard of workmanship is extremely piss poor IMO, everything is geared around speed which has simplified construction methods but seriously dumbed down quality. 

Modern buildings are more about the green credentials than anything else, that's where the focus has been for the last few years, making them energy efficient and with really low leakage rates. 

Unless you are paying top dollar in a semi prestigious development then you are likely to get timber frame insulated panels with block party walls, stud internal walls and pre form bison type floors, it will meet building regs criteria for noise transference but they aren't particularly stringent, most higher spec builds will augment the specification but that will certainly be reflected in the price. 

Don't want to put you off but go in with your eyes open, older buildings are costly for a reason, most modern builds are only built with a lifespan of 25 years in mind.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom