Those new speed cameras

What's Hot

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 4128
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 20248
    ^ I really do hate it that this place never updates a thread while you are reading or typing in it  B)
    @Sporky quick draw strikes again  ;)
  • BillDLBillDL Frets: 8552
    edited October 2023
    Here's how the topic of speedometer accuracy was debated in the House of Lords in 2001:
    and here's the relevant EEC Directive quoted that refers to manufacturing and testing tolerances:
    (note the air temperatures, etc)
  • DominicDominic Frets: 16421
    Haven't had time to read but a few weeks ago an automotive design engineer was explaining to be about how the amount of wear on a tire makes a change to the way a speedo reads 
    apparently 4mm of tread on a brand new tyre causes circumference difference significant enough to be accountable for at least 6% speedo error
    I'm not good at physics  so I zoned out a bit and didn't really listen
    edited October 2023
    Some of the commercial "trunk drivers" at my work have preferences for specific vehicles while hauling trailers for 9 hours.  It doesn't take them long to realise that new tyres on a vehicle after the tachograph (and connected speedo) was calibrated allows them to go faster than the speedo says they are going.  This is realised quite easily from the length of time it would normally take them to do their 4 hrs 30 min drive.  They can thus avoid tachograph infringements, but they still need to watch out for speed traps.
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 20248
    Dominic said:
    Haven't had time to read but a few weeks ago an automotive design engineer was explaining to be about how the amount of wear on a tire makes a change to the way a speedo reads 
    apparently 4mm of tread on a brand new tyre causes circumference difference significant enough to be accountable for at least 6% speedo error