Baltimore Bridge Collapse

What's Hot

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 28348
    Rocker said:
    Just wondering why my contribution to this thread received two LOLs.  It is true that I am not an engineer and know nothing about shipping but sometimes the obvious questions need to be asked.
    But ask them of yourself first. Think. Look things up. 

The internet is plagued by "obvious questions" asked by people too lazy to investigate on their own behalf.

If you know you know nothing about a subject, why think you have anything to contribute to discussion? Why not go and read about it first? Otherwise you're just wallowing in that ignorance. 

"[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24320
    I have nothing to add from an engineering POV as I know nothing about it.

However, today I have seeing a load of false-flag type / fake incident posts claiming that there is no chance that a container ship of that size could generate enough force to damage a bridge...

Strewth.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • elstoofelstoof Frets: 2497
    Rocker said:
    A ferry system can be setup fairly quickly to move people and goods across the river/sea inlet.

There are already two tunnels crossing the inlet, no need for a ferry system. However you aren’t allowed to transport hazardous materials through tunnels because, you know, safety, so you need bridges also
  • steersteer Frets: 1188
    edited March 28
    yocky said:

Wasn't the stuff that exploded in Beirut the result of a ship that the owner was just able to walk away from because it was cheaper that way?